Iron Maiden announces new album Senjutsu, set to release on September 3rd, featuring a new version of Eddie on the album cover

Iron Maiden fans rejoice!  The classic heavy metal band is releasing a new album on September 3 titled Senjutsu.  

Senjutsu will be Iron Maiden's 17th studio release and the album cover features a new version of the band's legendary mascot, Eddie.  Co-produced by Iron Maiden's bassist, Steve Harris, and Kevin Shirley, Senjustu which translates into "tactics and strategy," found the band composing some very complicated songs but yet following the method they started with their previous album, The Book of Souls, in that they pretty much recorded immediately, upon completion of writing and rehearsing.  According to Steve Harris, "We recorded this album in the same way we did The Book of Souls in that we’d write a song, rehearse it and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds. There’s some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort! I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it.”  

Singer Bruce Dickinson is equally excited about the release of Senjutsu and said "We’re all really excited about this album.  We recorded it back in early 2019, during a break in the Legacy tour, so we could maximize our touring yet still have a long set up period before release to prepare great album art and something special as a video. Of course the pandemic delayed things more - so much for the best laid plans – or should that be ‘strategies’!? The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There’s also one or two songs which sound pretty different to our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised - in a good way, I hope!"

See all of our Iron Maiden licensed band merchandise here.

Senjutsu features 90 minutes of music and will arrive, in physical form as either a double CD or triple vinyl set.  The first single, Writing On the Wall, has already been released as a single and the music video for the track can be found here.

The complete track listing for Senjustu is here:

1. "Senjutsu"
2. "Stratego"
3. "The Writing On The Wall"
4. "Lost In A Lost World"
5. "Days Of Future Past"
6. "The Time Machine"
7. "Darkest Hour"
8. "Death Of The Celts"
9. "The Parchment"
10. "Hell On Earth"

21st Jul 2021 Lando

Explore Popular Articles

Discounts, Specials & New Products. Delivered Regularly.